February 18, 2021 (8:14 PM)

2 min read


LEGAL ISSUES. SAMAHAN Treasurer position remains pending as Ateneo de Davao University Commission on Elections (COMELEC) review legal issues concerning possible violations during the SAMAHAN Central Board Elections for A.Y. 2021-2022.

Ateneo de Davao University Commission on Elections (COMELEC), in a memorandum released earlier today, officially declared the winners of this year’s SAMAHAN Central Board Elections with ‘Begin Again’ front bearers Karlo Torreon, Rhoi Verallo, and Euneece Olbes securing the top three positions while the seat for Treasurer remains ‘pending’ due to ‘legal issues’.

9 out of 11 independent candidates under ‘Begin Again’ slate succeeded in the electoral race. Aside from the top three, candidates for cluster representative also secured positions. These are Ma. Caesarina Claire Berdin for Accountancy, Beatrice Doctor for Business and Management, Dianna Kyle Tagalog for Education, Trishia Joy Tajora for Humanities and Letters, Kenneth Jay Lamadora for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, and Emanuele Galvez for Social Sciences.

Meanwhile, Harriette Haw and Jose Javier Salvador, both from Bahaghari, were declared as victors for Computer Studies and Engineering and Architecture Representatives, respectively.

The position for Treasurer vied by independent candidate under the Begin Again slate Marion James Tarnate and AGILAS’s Joshua Noel Tiagan on the other hand, is still pending for deliberations as of press time. 

“We would like to reiterate, as announced by the COMELEC Chairperson earlier, the position of Treasurer is still pending and is ongoing deliberation due to legal issues that came up at the last minute,” COMELEC said via its official Twitter account yesterday.

Although not declared as winner, the memo showed Tarnate on the lead with a total of 2157 that casted their votes in his favor, while Tiagan has 1817.

Online Elections

The new official members were announced on February 17 via Facebook live on the AdDU COMELEC Facebook page. 

The election formally ended at 6 PM with a total voter turnout of 78.68 percent of the population or 4,720 voters from the student body.  

Total Voters turnout per cluster

Business & Management77.12%
Computer Studies75.74%
Engineering & Architecture80.95%
Humanities & Letters78.57%
Natural Sciences & Mathematics76.29%
Nursing 80.34%
Social Science75.28%

End the silence of the gagged!

© 2024 Atenews

Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy