January 18, 2015 (10:15 AM)

2 min read


Jvanessic Tarranza weaves through the Vipers' defences for the lay-in. Photo by Mark Louie Balladares

Jvannesic Tarranza weaves through the Vipers’ defences for the lay-in. Photo by Mark Louie Balladares

The Accountancy Griffins clinched the Men’s Basketball title of the 2014 Palarong Atenista after beating the BM Vipers 81-71 Saturday morning at the Almendras Gym.

Right from the opening tip, both teams exchanged baskets and displayed tenacious defense in a tight first quarter that ended 17-16 in favor of the Vipers. The Griffins gained offensive momentum in the second quarter, using a 16-2 scoring run in the first five minutes to lead by 5 at halftime, 36-31.

In the third quarter, the Vipers stayed close by capitalizing on attempts from the free throw line due to the Griffins’ foul trouble. The Vipers managed to tie the game at 62-all with six minutes remaining in the game, but the Griffins fought back and pulled away in the final minutes. The dust eventually settled with the Griffins sitting on a 10-point cushion to end the fourth quarter.

Jvannesic Tarranza led the way for the Griffins, finishing with 26 points on 10/18 field goal shooting, including three 3-pointers. Tarranza was also named tournament MVP and Mythical 5 member. Klyde Batilo added a double-double for the Griffins’ cause with 15 points and 16 rebounds.

“Happy kaayo bai kay champion kami then sa yung na-tie kami sa game, kay sabi sa aming coach na magwork lang kami as a team so yung ang ginawa namin kaya kami nanalo,” Tarranza said.

On the Vipers side, Nino Advincula finished with 16 points on 5/8 field goal shooting, 6 rebounds and two steals, while Earl Hiso and Arthur Lopez each added 13 points.

Box Scores

Griffins 81 – Tarranza 26, Batilo 15, Aranjuez 11, Montilla 11, Taculin 8, Pestanes 6, Garcia 2, Evangelio 2, Honorico 0, Quibod 0, Ibanez 0, Senado 0, Go 0, Ancheta 0, Nunez 0

Vipers 71 – Advincula 16, Hiso 13, Lopez 13, Ngo 9, Corrales 7, Tunguia 6, Mundal 6, Senados 4, Tan 3, Ali 2, Justol 0, Zamora 0, Reyes 0, Andal 0, Tac-on 0

End the silence of the gagged!

© 2024 Atenews

Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy