September 5, 2013 (1:46 PM)

2 min read



Bachelor of Science in Accountancy (BSA) and School of Engineering and Architecture (SEA) reigned champs in the Ignatian Cup Finals this year.

Organized by the Ateneo Debate Varsity (ADV), the annual event held last September 4, was composed of two events: debate and extemporaneous speaking dialogue.

“What sets debate apart from ordinary conversations is that with it, there is the goal of winning as the motivation,” said ADV Vice-President Alyanna Gutierrez.

On why the Ignatian Cup exists, ADV President Joseph Daniel Jalotjot emphasized that it is for spreading the culture of debate in the university through debate and critical thinking.

Jalotjot indicated that with it, the purpose can be achieved through the participation and performance of the finalists from different divisions.

In the debate, BSA (affirmative side) and SEA (negative side) defended over the proposition of stripping the rights of suffrage (i.e., vote or run for/ be appointed in public office) of once-convicted politicians.

In the extemporaneous dialogue, contenders from five divisions [Business and Management (BM), Bachelor of Science in Accountancy/ Management Accounting/ Accounting Technology (BSAMAAT), Natural Science & Mathematics (NSM), School of Engineering and Architecture (SEA) and Social Sciences (SS)] expressed their ideas about ‘hiding real identities while surfing the internet’.

After the competitions, the following winners were announced:



Champion – Accountancy

Best Speakers:

1st – Lorenzo Llanes (School of Engineering and Architecture)

2nd – Agustin Carpio (School of Engineering and Architecture)

3rd – Hazel Bergantinos (Accountancy)

3rd – Karen Kae Dicdican (School of Education)

3rd – Peter Paul Paras (Accountancy)

6th – Roselle Cañales (Social Sciences)

7th – Ellen Joy Cajes (Accountancy)

8th – Mariel Banawan (Computer Studies)

8th – Jason Cyril Tajores (School of Education)



Champion – John Rey Magbanua, Jefford Mamacus

(School of Engineering and Architecture)

1st Runner up – Peter Jules Cañete, Kristoffer Jan Tipon

(Business and Management)

2nd Runner up – Rejel Bejano, Janine Orcena

(Bachelor of Science in Accountancy/ Management Accounting/ Accounting Technology)

End the silence of the gagged!

© 2024 Atenews

Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy