April 17, 2024 (9:32 PM)

3 min read


Ending the PIGLASAPAT’s 10-year streak of dominating the Top 3 SCB positions, BAHAGHARI secured the top three positions in a historic wave of elections during the recently concluded SAMAHAN Central Board (SCB) Elections 2024.

Bound under the Connect to Co-create coalition, Leen Juliet Lapatis, Sung Goon Acosta, and Aliya Medida garnered the student body’s majority votes against their opponents from Pinag-isang Lakas na Samahan ng mga Progresibong Atenista (PIGLASAPAT)’s Ateneo Rising slate for the position of President, Vice-President and Secretary-General, respectively.

Lapatis expressed her appreciation to represent BAHAGHARI as this year’s newly elected SAMAHAN President. She reflected on her experiences as the previous year’s School of Nursing (SON) Representative, strengthening her will to serve as a student leader despite the possible challenges ahead both in academic and SAMAHAN aspects.

“I envision a SAMAHAN that is progressive and answers to the calls of change. A SAMAHAN that embodies the 6Cs (Conscience, Commitment, Compassion, Christ-Centeredness, Competence and Cultural Sensitivity) and the Ignatian values,” Lapatis told Atenews.

Completing BAHAGHARI’s quintuple winning slate are their lone candidates, Dominic Miguel Almonte (Computer Studies Representative), and Mark James Albaracin (School of Education Representative), who have secured seats in their respective clusters.

Two-time Vice Presidential candidate Sung Goon Acosta shared that winning on his second try was a profound moment of gratitude to the Ateneans who trusted him.

“As the SAMAHAN Vice-President (VP), my priority is to stay true to my words of connecting and co-creating, with my fellow Blue Knights, an Amplified Ateneo,” Acosta added.

The new VP-elect highlighted that he will immediately lay the groundwork for his plans for the Office of the Vice President (OVP) at the beginning of his term.

Meanwhile, PIGLASAPAT secured the spot for their four cluster representative bets Adrian Neil Jamila (Accountancy), Norsheena Pacamaman (School of Engineering and Architecture), Christian Kush Casona (Business and Management Representative), and Mikaela Juliana Franco (Natural Sciences and Mathematics).

AGILAS candidate Archie Barroga was also elected as the new Social Sciences Representative.

However, PIGLASAPAT bet Mary Clair Clarde (Treasurer) and AGILAS candidate Katrina Paula Abayon (Humanities and Letters Representative) were unable to reach the required quorum for their respective positions, which resulted in the failure of elections per Section 4.2 of the SCB 2024 Electoral Code. No candidate also ran for the position of School of Nursing representative (SON).

A reelection will be conducted for the Treasurer, Humanities and Letters Representative, and SON Representative positions. As per AdDU COMELEC, the tentative date will be in the first week of May.

According to AdDU COMELEC, the 2024 SCB election accumulated a total voter turnout of 74.4% eligible voters comprising undergraduate students, which is higher than last year’s 67.22% voter turnout that has been cast.

Following the announcement of the newly appointed officials, the oath-taking ceremony of the newest roster of SAMAHAN officers will also take place in May.

The AdDU Commission on Elections (COMELEC) proclaimed the official results via Facebook Live on April 15, 2024.

End the silence of the gagged!

© 2024 Atenews

Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy