February 29, 2016 (2:22 PM)

2 min read


Photo from General Assistant to the President Jeremy Eliab's Facebook timeline

Photo from General Assistant to the President Jeremy Eliab’s Facebook timeline

Bands performed songs originally written by Ateneans before the roaring crowd that filled the Finster Auditorium last night during the 29th Awitenista Grand Finals.

Fifteen competing bands from the religious, nationalistic, jam Atenista, and contemporary categories performed to promote “authentic Atenean music.”

The 2016 edition of the Kalasag yearbook was also launched after the performances. Marketing student Paolo Camacho and Accounting Technology student Nikka Go were hailed as Mr. and Ms. Photogenic, respectively.

Former Sugarfree vocalist and rockband Cambio member Ebe Dancel also serenaded the crowd, earning their loud applause and cheering.

Winners per category were:

  • Religious: “Over Me” by Pauline Tolentino
  • Nationalistic: “Mensahe” by Kent Salera
  • Jam Atenista: “Kinabuhing Atenista” by John Wary Ybañez
  • Contemporary: “Roller Coaster” by Joanne Frigillana

The Best Live Performance award was given to Gabriel Sabalo and Trisha Senerado, the interpreters for the song “Mahalin”. Daniel Naranjilla, Jr. on the other hand was hailed as the Awit MTV contest winner.

This year’s Awitenista Grand Champion was Joanne Frigillana with her composition, “Roller Coaster.”

“Until now feeling ko na panaginip lang yun lahat kagabi,” Frigillana expressed. “I’m really happy na nanalo ako, gift ko na rin yun sa father ko kasi birthday niya kahapon, and he was there supporting me.”

She added that her life as a college student inspired her, especially with her hardships in coping with the academic demands of being a third year student.

“Nakakapagod na, pero always ko lng sinasabi na babawi nlnh ako next time, or dagdagan ko pa ang efforts ko,” she said.

Awitenista is organized annually by Kalasag, the official yearbook publication of Ateneo de Davao University.

End the silence of the gagged!

© 2024 Atenews

Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy